The notebook was seized on May 27, 2026, from the residence of T Veena, daughter of former Kerala chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan, in the CMRL-Exalogic alleged money laundering case. One page records a “total deposit” of AED 2,82,600 and a transfer of AED 1,46,600 to Faijaz VP, whom ED describes as a UAE-based associate.
It gives an account balance of AED 1,36,002 “as on 17/Sep/2024”. Deducting the transfer from the deposit total yields AED 1,36,000, within AED 2 of the stated balance.
The same page carries the entries “Total sent from here – 85L” and “Total Faijaz received – 349K (AED)”. The latter is roughly AED 2 lakh more than the transfer recorded on the page. Agent sources said the records do not establish whether the two figures cover the same transactions, or how much of the ₹85 lakh went through hawala channels and how much through banks.
A second page lists “local transfers” of 94,100 and 52,500, followed by “total 1,46,600 transferred to Faijaz’s account”. It attributes the 52,500 to a “Mashreq Account of Faijaz”, a bank account, and the 94,100 to an unspecified account. The currency is not stated on that page, the sources said.
In its 25-page letter to the Kerala DGP, ED said the notebook indicated hawala or illicit routing of Indian rupees converted into dirhams.
The Vigilance and Anti-Corruption Bureau FIRs registered on October 12 describe the AED 1,46,600 transfer as having taken place in September 2024, according to published reports of FIRs. The ledger records September 17, 2024, as the date against which the balance and expenses were calculated. It does not state when the transfer was made.Another page records expenses of AED 56,430.91 as of that date, “as per Faijaz”, and AED 1,12,352.60 thereafter. The notebook gives total expenses of AED 1,68,782.59.
The ledger entries described by the sources do not name Vijayan or former minister PA Mohammed Riyas. ED’s letter links the alleged transactions to Riyas through statements recorded on August 18 from Varish K and Shyjal K under Section 17 of the Prevention of Money Laundering Act. The letter says Veena told ED that entries naming Nikhil, Waris and Shaijal were written in March 2026 and related to a proposed business investment. It says she described Faijaz as a friend of about 10 years.


